Hydroblast {U}

Instant

Choose one —

• Counter target spell if it’s red.

• Destroy target permanent if it’s red.

“Heed the lessons of our time: the forms of water may move the land itself and hold captive the fires within.”
—Gustha Ebbasdotter, Kjeldoran royal mage

Illustrated by Kaja Foglio

Not Legal This version of this card has gold borders and a non-standard Magic back. It is not legal for constructed play.

Notes and Rules Information for Hydroblast:
  • The decision to counter a spell or destroy a permanent is a decision made on announcement before the target is selected. If the spell is redirected, this mode can’t be changed, so only targets of the selected type are valid. (2004-10-04)
  • Hydroblast can target any spell or permanent, not just a red one. It checks the color of the target only on resolution. (2016-06-08)