Stifle (World Championship Decks 2004 #gn52sb)
2004 World Championship Decks

Stifle {U}


Counter target activated or triggered ability. (Mana abilities can’t be targeted.)

“If I wanted your opinion, I’d have told you what it was.”
—Pemmin, Riptide survivor

Illustrated by Dany Orizio

Not Legal This version of this card has gold borders and a non-standard Magic back. It is not legal for constructed play.

Notes and Rules Information for Stifle:
  • An activated ability has a “Cost: Effect” format. Look for the colon. A triggered ability starts with “when”, “whenever”, or “at”. (2004-10-04)
  • Turn-based actions and special actions like the normal card draw, combat damage, or turning a face-down creature face up can’t be targeted. (2004-10-04)
  • It can target delayed triggered abilities. For example, a card that says “Whenever a player cycles a card, you may exile target creature. If you do, return that creature to the battlefield at the beginning of the end step.” triggers when a player cycles a card and creates a delayed trigger that happens at the beginning of the end step. You can choose to target the “at the beginning of the end step” trigger when it is placed on the stack at end of turn. (2004-10-04)