Smother (World Championship Decks 2003 #we170sb)
2003 World Championship Decks

Smother {1}{B}


Destroy target creature with mana value 3 or less. It can’t be regenerated.

“I can’t hear them scream, but at least I don’t have to listen to them beg.”
—Phage the Untouchable

Illustrated by Carl Critchlow

Not Legal This version of this card has gold borders and a non-standard Magic back. It is not legal for constructed play.

Notes and Rules Information for Smother:
  • A creature's mana value is determined solely by the mana symbols printed in its upper right corner (unless that creature is copying something else; see below). If its mana cost includes {X}, X is considered to be 0. If it has no mana symbols in its upper right corner (because it's an animated land, for example), its mana value is 0. Ignore any alternative costs or additional costs (such as kicker) paid when the creature was cast. (2010-03-01)
  • A token has a mana value of 0, unless it is copying something else. (2010-03-01)
  • If a creature is copying something else, its mana value is the mana value of whatever it's copying. (2010-03-01)