Phantom Centaur (World Championship Decks 2003 #dh127sb)
2003 World Championship Decks

Phantom Centaur {2}{G}{G}

Creature — Centaur Spirit

Protection from black

Phantom Centaur enters the battlefield with three +1/+1 counters on it.

If damage would be dealt to Phantom Centaur, prevent that damage. Remove a +1/+1 counter from Phantom Centaur.


Illustrated by Carl Critchlow

Not Legal This version of this card has gold borders and a non-standard Magic back. It is not legal for constructed play.

Notes and Rules Information for Phantom Centaur:
  • If this card is going to take damage from a black source, you can choose to apply Protection from Black’s damage prevention ability prior to applying this card’s built-in ability. This means you don’t have to remove a counter. (2004-10-04)
  • If this card takes damage from multiple sources at once (for example if it is blocked by multiple creatures in combat), it only loses one counter. (2004-10-04)
  • If unpreventable damage is applied to this card, you still remove a counter even though the prevention fails. (2004-10-04)
  • Remove one counter each time it would be damaged. If it was going to take more than one point of damage, you prevent all the damage and still only remove one counter. (2004-10-04)
  • The damage prevention ability works even if it has no counters, as long as some effect keeps its toughness above zero. (2004-10-04)