Elkin Lair {3}{R}

World Enchantment

At the beginning of each player’s upkeep, that player exiles a card at random from their hand. The player may play that card this turn. At the beginning of the next end step, if the player hasn’t played the card, they put it into their graveyard.

Illustrated by Jerry Tiritilli

Part of the Reserved List

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Elkin Lair:
  • This has the supertype world. When a world permanent enters the battlefield, any world permanents that were already on the battlefield are put into their owners’ graveyards. This is a state-based action called the “world rule.” The new world permanent stays on the battlefield. If two world permanents enter the battlefield at the same time, they’re both put into their owners’ graveyards. (2008-10-01)
  • You can play the card this turn, not just during the resolution of the ability. (2006-02-01)