More or Less {U}

Instant

Add or subtract 1 or one from a number or number word on target spell or permanent until end of turn.

Why was 5 afraid of 6? Because 678.

Illustrated by Chris Seaman

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for More or Less:
  • Indefinite articles such as “a” in “draw a card” aren’t number words and can’t be modified. (2018-01-19)
  • You can’t change any instance of X. (2018-01-19)
  • You can change the numeral inside of a mana symbol, but you can’t modify the cost of a spell in time to pay less for it. It must already be on the stack to be a valid target for More or Less. (2018-01-19)
  • You can change power or toughness. If you change a toughness of 1 to 0, the creature will probably die. (2018-01-19)
  • You can change the number of dice rolled for an effect only if the original instruction included a number word to describe how many dice to roll. You can’t change the “a” in “roll a six-sided die,” but you could change the “two” in “roll two six-sided dice.” (2018-01-19)
  • You can change the number of sides on a die. If you don’t have any five-sided, seven-sided dice, or d21s handy, you can use other dice to simulate the rolls. (2018-01-19)
  • You can turn a 0 into a -1. Sources that would deal 0 or less damage don’t deal any damage, even in silver-bordered games. (2018-01-19)