Modular Monstrosity {7}

Artifact Creature — Construct

Whenever an opponent casts a spell, you have five seconds to choose a keyword you haven’t chosen for a card named Modular Monstrosity today that’s been printed on a creature card. If you do, Modular Monstrosity gains that ability. Otherwise, Modular Monstrosity loses all keyword abilities.

3/3

Illustrated by Alex Konstad

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Modular Monstrosity:
  • You may choose any keyword ability that appears on any printed Magic creature card. You can’t pick keyword actions like explore or scry. If the keyword has a modifier, such as a mana cost or a number, you must choose a modifier that’s been printed. Sorry, “annihilator 500” fans. (2018-01-19)
  • Each keyword can be chosen only once on any given day. And that counts every Modular Monstrosity you play with that day. You also can’t reuse a keyword with a new modifier. For example, if you choose protection from Demons and from Dragons (totally counts), you can’t choose protection from red later that day. Protection has already been used. (2018-01-19)
  • If you make an invalid choice, you can still make a valid choice as long as time hasn’t expired. (2018-01-19)
  • If you haven’t made a valid choice after five seconds, Modular Monstrosity loses all keyword abilities, including ones its picked up in other ways. (2018-01-19)