Umbilicus {4}

Artifact

At the beginning of each player’s upkeep, that player returns a permanent they control to its owner’s hand unless they pay 2 life.

It was the explorers’ only tether to reality.

Illustrated by Dermot Power

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Umbilicus:
  • If you only have 1 life, you can’t choose the pay 2 life option. (2004-10-04)
  • If you don’t have a permanent to choose, you can still choose to not pay the life and then just do nothing since there is no permanent to choose. (2004-10-04)
  • You choose to pay the life or not pay the life during the resolution of the ability. (2004-10-04)