Intervene {U}

Instant

Counter target spell that targets a creature.

“At first I simply observed. But I found that without investment in others, life serves no purpose.”
—Karn, silver golem

Illustrated by Heather Hudson

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Intervene:
  • If a spell is modal, use the target(s) of the current mode only for this check. Targets for the other modes are never selected. (2004-10-04)
  • Intervene can only target a spell that is currently targeting a creature. (2004-10-04)
  • It means “targeting at least one creature” not “exactly one creature”. (2004-10-04)
  • If the spell’s target leaves the battlefield before this spell resolves, Intervene won’t resolve since it no longer targets a spell that targets a creature. (2004-10-04)