Sudden Spoiling {1}{B}{B}

Instant

Split second (As long as this spell is on the stack, players can’t cast spells or activate abilities that aren’t mana abilities.)

Until end of turn, creatures target player controls lose all abilities and have base power and toughness 0/2.

Illustrated by Alan Pollack

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Sudden Spoiling:
  • After a spell with split second resolves (or otherwise leaves the stack), players may again cast spells and activate abilities before the next object on the stack resolves. (2021-03-19)
  • Sudden Spoiling overwrites any effects that set a creature’s power and toughness. Any existing effects or counters that raise, lower, or switch a creature’s power and/or toughness continue to apply to the creature’s newly-set power and toughness. (2021-03-19)
  • Sudden Spoiling affects only creatures the target player controls at the time it resolves. Creatures they begin to control later in the turn won’t change power and toughness or lose abilities. (2021-03-19)
  • Players still get priority while a card with split second is on the stack; their options are just limited to mana abilities and certain special actions. (2021-03-19)
  • Players may turn face-down creatures face up while a spell with split second is on the stack. (2021-03-19)
  • Split second doesn’t stop triggered abilities from triggering, such as that of Chalice of the Void. If one does, its controller puts it on the stack and chooses targets for it, if any. Those abilities will resolve as normal. (2021-03-19)
  • Casting a spell with split second won’t affect spells and abilities that are already on the stack. (2021-03-19)
  • If the resolution of a triggered ability involves casting a spell, that spell can’t be cast if a spell with split second is on the stack. (2021-03-19)