Grinning Totem {4}

Artifact

{2}, {T}, Sacrifice Grinning Totem: Search target opponent’s library for a card and exile it. Then that player shuffles their library. Until the beginning of your next upkeep, you may play that card. At the beginning of your next upkeep, if you haven’t played it, put it into its owner’s graveyard.

Illustrated by Donato Giancola

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Grinning Totem:
  • You may choose to find any kind of card, including a land. You must exile a card (unless the opponent’s library is empty); you can’t fail to find anything. (2006-09-25)
  • “Until the beginning of your next upkeep” means the effect wears off as soon as your next upkeep starts. Your last chance to play the card is usually the End step of the player who immediately precedes you. (2006-09-25)
  • The exiled card is played using the normal rules for timing and priority for its card type, as well as any other applicable restrictions. You’ll have to pay its mana cost. The only thing that’s different is you’re casting it from the Exile zone. (2006-09-25)