Thumbscrews {2}

Artifact

At the beginning of your upkeep, if you have five or more cards in hand, Thumbscrews deals 1 damage to target opponent or planeswalker.

“We will start small, I think.”
—Volrath

Illustrated by Charles Gillespie

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Thumbscrews:
  • It checks the number of cards in your hand at the beginning of upkeep, and if you have 4 or fewer cards in hand it will not trigger. It checks again when it resolves and will not deal damage unless you still have 5 or more cards in hand. (2004-10-04)