Thryx, the Sudden Storm {3}{U}{U}

Legendary Creature — Elemental Giant

Flash

Flying

Spells you cast with converted mana cost 5 or greater cost {1} less to cast and can’t be countered.

4/5

Illustrated by Mathias Kollros

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Thryx, the Sudden Storm:
  • To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you’re paying, add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions (such as that of Thryx). The converted mana cost of the spell remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was. (2020-01-24)
  • For spells with {X} in their mana costs, use the value chosen for X to determine the spell’s converted mana cost. (2020-01-24)
  • Thryx’s last ability doesn’t apply to itself while it’s a spell. (2020-01-24)
  • A spell or ability that counters spells can still target spells you control with converted mana cost 5 or greater. When that spell or ability resolves, your spell won’t be countered, but any additional effects of the countering spell or ability will still happen. (2020-01-24)
  • If Thryx enters the battlefield while a spell with converted mana cost 5 or greater that you cast is on the stack, that spell can’t be countered, even though you don’t get the {1} discount. (2020-01-24)
  • Players can’t attempt to remove Thryx to raise the cost of a spell you wish to cast, but they can remove it to allow their spells and abilities to counter your spells. (2020-01-24)