Elspeth Conquers Death {3}{W}{W}

Enchantment — Saga

I - Exile target permanent an opponent controls with converted mana cost 3 or greater.

II - Noncreature spells your opponents cast cost {2} more to cast until your next turn.

III - Return target creature or planeswalker card from your graveyard to the battlefield. Put a +1/+1 counter or a loyalty counter on it.

Illustrated by Ryan Yee

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Elspeth Conquers Death:
  • If multiple chapter abilities trigger at the same time, their controller puts them on the stack in any order. If any of them require targets, those targets are chosen as you put the abilities on the stack, before any of those abilities resolve. (2020-01-24)
  • Removing lore counters won’t cause a previous chapter ability to trigger. If lore counters are removed from a Saga, the appropriate chapter abilities will trigger again when the Saga receives lore counters. (2020-01-24)
  • If a creature on the battlefield has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be 0. (2020-01-24)
  • To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you’re paying, add any cost increases (such as that of this Saga’s second chapter), then apply any cost reductions. The converted mana cost of the spell remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was. (2020-01-24)
  • The effect of the second chapter lasts until your next turn even if this Saga leaves the battlefield before then. (2020-01-24)
  • You choose which kind of counter to put on the returned permanent after it has entered the battlefield. You may put a +1/+1 counter on a planeswalker or a loyalty counter on a creature, but this isn’t normally going to have any effect. (2020-01-24)
  • In a multiplayer game, if you leave the game after this Saga’s second chapter ability resolves but before your next turn begins, its effect lasts until your next turn would have begun. It neither expires immediately nor lasts indefinitely. (2020-01-24)
  • As a Saga enters the battlefield, its controller puts a lore counter on it. As your precombat main phase begins (immediately after your draw step), you put another lore counter on each Saga you control. Putting a lore counter on a Saga in either of these ways doesn’t use the stack. (2020-01-24)
  • Each symbol on the left of a Saga’s text box represents a chapter ability. A chapter ability is a triggered ability that triggers when a lore counter that is put on the Saga causes the number of lore counters on the Saga to become equal to or greater than the ability’s chapter number. Chapter abilities are put onto the stack and may be responded to. (2020-01-24)
  • A chapter ability doesn’t trigger if a lore counter is put on a Saga that already had a number of lore counters greater than or equal to that chapter’s number. For example, the third lore counter put on a Saga causes the III chapter ability to trigger, but I and II won’t trigger again. (2020-01-24)
  • Once a chapter ability has triggered, the ability on the stack won’t be affected if the Saga gains or loses counters, or if it leaves the battlefield. (2020-01-24)
  • Once the number of lore counters on a Saga is greater than or equal to the greatest number among its chapter abilities, the Saga’s controller sacrifices it as soon as its chapter ability has left the stack, most likely by resolving or being countered. This state-based action doesn’t use the stack. (2020-01-24)