Ogre Geargrabber {4}{R}{R}

Creature — Ogre Warrior

Whenever Ogre Geargrabber attacks, gain control of target Equipment an opponent controls until end of turn. Attach it to Ogre Geargrabber. When you lose control of that Equipment, unattach it.

Long reach, short attention span.

4/4

Watermark: Mirran

Illustrated by David Rapoza

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Ogre Geargrabber:
  • If the targeted Equipment can’t be attached to Ogre Geargrabber for some reason, you’ll still gain control of it until end of turn. (2011-01-01)
  • Any ability of the targeted Equipment that triggers “whenever equipped creature attacks” won’t trigger. That’s because Ogre Geargrabber is already attacking at the time that Equipment becomes attached to it. (2011-01-01)
  • The delayed triggered ability (“When you lose control of that Equipment, unattach it”) triggers the next time you lose control of the Equipment for any reason, not just when Ogre Geargrabber’s control-changing effect ends. The Equipment will become unattached from whatever creature it happens to be attached to at that time. It doesn’t matter if Ogre Geargrabber is still on the battlefield at this time. (2011-01-01)
  • Ogre Geargrabber’s control-changing effect ends during the cleanup step, at the same time that damage marked on permanents is removed. If you still controlled the Equipment at that time, this causes the delayed triggered ability to trigger. It goes on the stack and players can respond (which normally doesn’t happen during the cleanup step), then, once that cleanup step ends, another one begins. (2011-01-01)