Falco Spara, Pactweaver {1}{G}{W}{U}

Legendary Creature — Bird Demon

Flying, trample

Falco Spara, Pactweaver enters the battlefield with a shield counter on it.

You may look at the top card of your library any time.

You may cast spells from the top of your library by removing a counter from a creature you control in addition to paying their other costs.


Illustrated by Jack Hughes

Notes and Rules Information for Falco Spara, Pactweaver:
  • Removing a counter from a creature is an additional cost of casting the spell and may be combined with other additional costs or alternative costs that spell may have, such as casualty. (2022-04-29)
  • If you cast a spell with casualty this way, you can pay the costs in any order, which means that you may remove a counter from a creature then sacrifice it to pay the casualty cost. Bear in mind that removing a +1/+1 counter this way will reduce a creature's power, which might prevent you from paying the casualty cost with that creature. (2022-04-29)
  • Shield counters don't prevent players from sacrificing creatures. (2022-04-29)
  • Removing a shield counter in this way isn't the same as regenerating a creature. (2022-04-29)
  • If a permanent that would be dealt damage has more than one shield counter on it, that damage is prevented and only one shield counter is removed. (2022-04-29)
  • If a permanent with a shield counter is dealt unpreventable damage, that damage will be dealt and a shield counter will still be removed. (2022-04-29)
  • A creature with a shield counter on it may still be destroyed by state-based actions if it has damage marked on it equal to its toughness or has been dealt unpreventable damage by a source with deathtouch. (2022-04-29)
  • “Shield” is not an ability that creatures have and shield counters are not keyword counters. If a creature with a shield counter loses its abilities, the shield counter will still protect it as normal. (2022-04-29)