Obscura Ascendancy {W}{U}{B}

Enchantment

Whenever you cast a spell, if its mana value is equal to 1 plus the number of soul counters on Obscura Ascendancy, put a soul counter on Obscura Ascendancy, then create a 2/2 white Spirit creature token with flying.

As long as there are five or more soul counters on Obscura Ascendancy, Spirits you control get +3/+3.

Watermark: Obscura

Illustrated by Igor Krstic

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Obscura Ascendancy:
  • If there are no soul counters on Obscura Ascendancy, its ability triggers if you cast a spell with mana value 1. If there is one counter, its ability triggers if you cast a spell with mana value 2, and so on. (2022-04-29)
  • Obscura Ascendancy's triggered ability has an “intervening ‘if'” clause. This means that it checks the number of counters both when the ability triggers and when it resolves. Notably, this means that casting two instants in a row with mana value 1 will never cause a player to create two tokens or put two counters on Obscura Ascendancy. (2022-04-29)