Essence Backlash {2}{U}{R}

Instant

Counter target creature spell. Essence Backlash deals damage equal to that spell’s power to its controller.

“The other guilds will learn the hard way not to interfere with our investigations.” —Bori Andon, Izzet blastseeker

Watermark: Izzet

Illustrated by Jung Park

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Essence Backlash:
  • Essence Backlash can target a creature spell that can’t be countered. If Essence Backlash resolves, it won’t counter the spell but it will still deal damage. (2012-10-01)
  • If the creature’s power is * and it has an ability defining its power, use that ability to determine its power. (2012-10-01)
  • Abilities that change the power of a creature (such as the one of Collective Blessing) affect only creatures on the battlefield. They won’t change a creature spell’s power on the stack. (2012-10-01)