Elkin Bottle {3}


{3}, {T}: Exile the top card of your library. Until the beginning of your next upkeep, you may play that card.

Illustrated by Quinton Hoover

Not Legal This version of this card has gold borders and a non-standard Magic back. It is not legal for constructed play.

Notes and Rules Information for Elkin Bottle:
  • This is not considered to be drawing a card. (2004-10-04)
  • If the Bottle leaves the battlefield or your control, the cards remain waiting until played or until the beginning of your next upkeep. The card is in the “Exile” zone. (2004-10-04)
  • The card is not part of your hand in any way. You can’t be forced to discard it due to a discard from hand effect, and you can’t discard it to pay a cost. (2004-10-04)
  • To “play a card” is to either cast a spell or to put a land onto the battlefield using the main phase special action. (2004-10-04)
  • If you do not play the card before your next upkeep, it remains exiled; you just lose the ability to play it. (2008-08-01)
  • The exiled card is played using the normal timing rules for its card type, as well as any other applicable restrictions such as “Cast [this card] only during combat.” For example, you can’t play the card during an opponent’s turn unless it’s an instant or has flash. Similarly, if the exiled card is a land, you can’t play it if you’ve already played a land that turn. If it’s a nonland card, you’ll have to pay its mana cost. The only thing that’s different is you’re playing it from the Exile zone. (2008-10-01)