Three Steps Ahead (Outlaws of Thunder Junction Promos #75s)

Three Steps Ahead {U}


Spree (Choose one or more additional costs.)

+ {1}{U} — Counter target spell.

+ {3} — Create a token that’s a copy of target artifact or creature you control.

+ {2} — Draw two cards, then discard a card.

She’d planned for every eventuality, with the obvious exception of failure.

Illustrated by Francisco Miyara

Notes and Rules Information for Three Steps Ahead:
  • If the first and/or second modes are chosen, then Three Steps Ahead has one or more targets. If so, and all its targets are illegal as it tries to resolve, Three Steps Ahead won’t resolve and none of its effects will happen. If at least one target is still legal, the spell will resolve and modes with legal targets (and the third mode, if chosen) will have their effects. (2024-04-12)
  • The token copies exactly what was printed on the original permanent and nothing else (unless that permanent is copying something else or is a token; see below). It doesn’t copy whether that permanent is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras and Equipment attached to it, or any non-copy effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, and so on. (2024-04-12)
  • If the copied permanent has {X} in its mana cost, X is 0. (2024-04-12)
  • If the copied permanent is a token, the token that’s created copies the original characteristics of that token as stated by the effect that created that token. (2024-04-12)
  • If the copied permanent is copying something else, then the token enters the battlefield as whatever that permanent copied. (2024-04-12)
  • Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the copied permanent will trigger when the token enters the battlefield. Any “as [this permanent] enters the battlefield” or “[this permanent] enters the battlefield with” abilities of the copied permanent will also work. (2024-04-12)
  • Spells with spree have a + (plus sign) indicator in the upper right corner of the card frame. This has no rules meaning and serves only to remind players that at least one additional cost is required to cast the spell. (2024-04-12)
  • Each additional cost and associated mode in the text box is also preceded with a + indicator. These symbols also have no rules meaning and serve only to remind players that the listed costs are additional costs. (2024-04-12)
  • You must choose at least one of the listed modes and pay its associated additional cost in order to cast a spell with spree. (2024-04-12)
  • You choose the modes as you cast the spell with spree. Once modes are chosen, they can’t be changed. (2024-04-12)
  • If a mode requires a target, you can select that mode only if there’s a legal target available. Ignore the targeting requirements for modes you don’t choose. (2024-04-12)
  • No matter which modes you choose, you always follow the instructions in the order they are written. (2024-04-12)
  • You can’t choose the same mode more than once. (2024-04-12)
  • The mana value of a spell with spree is determined only by its mana cost (in the upper right corner of the card). It doesn’t matter which modes you choose or which additional costs you pay, including any additional costs imposed by other effects. (2024-04-12)
  • No player can cast spells or activate abilities in between the modes of a resolving spell. Any abilities that trigger won’t be put onto the stack until the spell is done resolving. (2024-04-12)
  • If a spell with spree is copied, the effect that creates the copy may allow you to choose new targets. You cannot choose new modes. (2024-04-12)
  • If all targets for the chosen modes become illegal before a spell with spree resolves, the spell won’t resolve and none of its effects will happen. If at least one target is still legal, the spell will resolve but will have no effect on any illegal targets. (2024-04-12)
  • If an effect allows you to cast a spell with spree “without paying its mana cost,” you must still choose at least one mode and pay the associated additional costs. (2024-04-12)