Quintorius Kand (The Lost Caverns of Ixalan Promos #238s)

Quintorius Kand {3}{R}{W}

Legendary Planeswalker — Quintorius

Whenever you cast a spell from exile, Quintorius Kand deals 2 damage to each opponent and you gain 2 life.

+1: Create a 3/2 red and white Spirit creature token.

−3: Discover 4.

−6: Exile any number of target cards from your graveyard. Add {R} for each card exiled this way. You may play those cards this turn.

Loyalty: 4

Illustrated by Zoltan Boros

Notes and Rules Information for Quintorius Kand:
  • You must follow all normal timing rules for a card you play with Quintorius Kand's last ability and, if it's a spell, you must pay its costs to cast it. (2023-11-10)
  • "Discover N" means "Exile cards from the top of your library until you exile a nonland card with mana value N or less. That card is the "discovered" card. You may cast that card without paying its mana cost if the resulting spell's mana value is less than or equal to N. If you don't cast it, put that card into your hand. Put the remaining exiled cards on the bottom of your library in a random order." (2023-11-10)
  • A spell's mana value is determined only by its mana cost. Ignore any alternative costs, additional costs, cost increases, or cost reductions. (2023-11-10)
  • When you discover, you must exile cards. The only optional part of the ability is whether you cast the exiled card or put it into your hand. (2023-11-10)
  • You exile the cards face up. All players will be able to see them. (2023-11-10)
  • If you cast a spell "without paying its mana cost", you can't choose to cast it for any alternative costs. You can, however, pay additional costs. If the spell has any mandatory additional costs, you must pay those to cast it. (2023-11-10)
  • If the discovered card has {X} in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X when casting it without paying its mana cost. (2023-11-10)
  • If you can't cast the discovered card (perhaps because there are no legal targets for the spell), you'll put it into your hand. (2023-11-10)
  • Some spells and abilities that cause you to discover may require targets. If each target chosen is an illegal target as that spell or ability tries to resolve, it won't resolve and you won't discover. (2023-11-10)
  • The mana value of a split card is determined by the combined mana cost of its two halves. If discover allows you to cast a split card, you may cast either half (as long as its mana value is less than or equal to the effect's discover value) but not both halves. (2023-11-10)
  • If you discover an adventurer card, split card, or modal double-faced card, you might be able to cast that card with either set of characteristics depending on the effect's discover value. For example, if you discover 4 and reveal Galvanic Giant (an adventurer card from Wilds of Eldraine with a mana value of 4), you could cast Galvanic Giant, but not Storm Reading (its Adventure, which has a mana value of 7). If you discover 7 and reveal Galvanic Giant, you could cast either Galvanic Giant or Storm Reading. (2023-11-10)