Imp's Mischief {1}{B}

Instant

Change the target of target spell with a single target. You lose life equal to that spell’s converted mana cost.

“Do the innocent pay for the crimes of the guilty? Of course they do. That’s the fate of the weak.” —Nicol Bolas

Illustrated by Thomas M. Baxa

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Imp's Mischief:
  • If there is no other legal target for the spell, the spell’s target isn’t changed. You still lose the life. (2007-02-01)
  • If a spell targets multiple things, you can’t target it with Imp’s Mischief, even if all but one of the targets has become illegal. (2007-02-01)
  • If a spell has multiple targets but is targeting the same thing with all of them (such as Seeds of Strength targeting the same creature three times), you can’t target that spell with Imp’s Mischief. (2007-02-01)
  • You can’t make a spell which is on the stack target itself. (2004-10-04)
  • You can choose to make a spell on the stack target this spell (if such a target choice would be legal had the spell been cast while this spell was on the stack). The new target for the deflected spell is not chosen until this spell resolves. This spell is still on the stack when new targets are selected for the spell. (2004-10-04)
  • Once the spell resolves, the new target is considered to be targeted by the deflected spell. This will trigger any effects which trigger on being targeted. (2004-10-04)
  • This does not check if the current target is legal. It just checks if the spell has a single target. (2004-10-04)
  • You choose the spell to target on announcement, but you pick the new target for that spell on resolution. (2004-10-04)
  • If there is no other legal target for the spell, this does not change the target. (2004-10-04)
  • This only targets the spell being changed, not the original or new target of the spell it is affecting. (2004-10-04)
  • The target of a spell that targets another spell on the stack can be changed to any other spell on the stack, even if the new target will resolve before the spell does. (2004-10-04)