Dual Nature {4}{G}{G}

Enchantment

Whenever a nontoken creature enters the battlefield, its controller creates a token that’s a copy of that creature.

Whenever a nontoken creature leaves the battlefield, exile all tokens with the same name as that creature.

When Dual Nature leaves the battlefield, exile all tokens created with Dual Nature.

Illustrated by Arnie Swekel

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Dual Nature:
  • If a legendary creature enters the battlefield, the token is put onto the battlefield and then the “legend rule” forces its controller to put either the original or the token into its owner’s graveyard before any player can take any actions. (2013-07-01)
  • The token is not considered to have been kicked, even if the creature it’s a copy of was kicked. (2009-10-01)
  • If Dual Nature leaves the battlefield between when it triggers and when a token is put onto the battlefield, that token remains on the battlefield indefinitely. It missed the separate ability which would have exiled the token. (2004-10-04)
  • If the original creature has any “enters the battlefield” abilities, the copy will also have those. (2004-10-04)