Because I Have Willed It

Ongoing Scheme

(An ongoing scheme remains face up until it’s abandoned.)

Spells you cast cost {1} less to cast.

At the beginning of your opponents’ end step, if they cast four or more spells this turn, abandon this scheme.

Illustrated by Adrian Majkrzak

Notes and Rules Information for Because I Have Willed It:
  • Abilities that reduce the cost of a spell apply after abilities that raise them. For example, Borrowed Malevolence with both modes chosen costs {1}{B} to cast if this scheme is face up. (2017-06-13)
  • Effects that reduce the generic mana cost of a spell can’t reduce that spell’s colored mana requirements. (2017-06-13)
  • If an instant or sorcery spell has {X} in its mana cost, choose the value for X first, then reduce the cost by {1}. For example, Volcanic Geyser with X chosen as 4 costs {3}{R}{R} to cast if this scheme is face up. (2017-06-13)
  • For this scheme’s second ability to trigger, the players on the opposing team must have cast four spells total among them. (2017-06-13)
  • If an opponent cast a spell during the opposing team’s turn and then left the game, that spell counts when determining whether the last ability of this scheme triggers. (2017-06-13)
  • The second ability only checks that four or more spells were cast. It doesn’t matter if those spells are countered or fail to resolve for other reasons. (2017-06-13)
  • In a Supervillain Rumble game, the last ability of this scheme triggers at the beginning of each opponent’s end step if that player alone has cast four or more spells that turn. (2017-06-13)