Derevi, Empyrial Tactician (Commander 2013 Oversized #186)
Oversized Commander

Derevi, Empyrial Tactician {G}{W}{U}

Legendary Creature — Bird Wizard


Whenever Derevi, Empyrial Tactician enters the battlefield or a creature you control deals combat damage to a player, you may tap or untap target permanent.

{1}{G}{W}{U}: Put Derevi onto the battlefield from the command zone.


Illustrated by Michael Komarck

Not Legal This version of this card is oversized with a non-standard Magic back. It is not legal for constructed play.

Notes and Rules Information for Derevi, Empyrial Tactician:
  • Derevi, Empyrial Tactician is banned as a commander in Duel Commander format, but it may be part of your deck. (Scryfall note, 2015-01-19)
  • You can activate Derevi’s last ability only when it is in the command zone. (2020-11-10)
  • When you activate Derevi’s last ability, you’re not casting Derevi as a spell. The ability can’t be countered by something that counters only spells. The ability isn’t subject to the commander tax, nor does it increase the tax if you cast Derevi from the command zone later in the game. (2020-11-10)