Laccolith Whelp {R}

Creature — Beast

Whenever Laccolith Whelp becomes blocked, you may have it deal damage equal to its power to target creature. If you do, Laccolith Whelp assigns no combat damage this turn.

They don’t feed; they stoke.

1/1

Illustrated by Dave Dorman

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Laccolith Whelp:
  • The ability triggers even if a spell or ability makes it blocked, instead of being blocked by a creature. (2004-10-04)
  • It can target any creature on the battlefield, not just one of the ones blocking it. (2004-10-04)
  • The ability allows you to deal damage during the declare blockers step of combat, which is well before even first strike creatures deal damage. (2004-10-04)
  • The ability is optional. You can decide to allow it to deal combat damage as normal. (2004-10-04)