Lethal Scheme {2}{B}{B}

Instant

Convoke (Your creatures can help cast this spell. Each creature you tap while casting this spell pays for {1} or one mana of that creature’s color.)

Destroy target creature or planeswalker. Each creature that convoked Lethal Scheme connives. (Draw a card, then discard a card. If you discarded a nonland card, put a +1/+1 counter on that creature.)

Watermark: Obscura

Illustrated by Tuan Duong Chu

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Lethal Scheme:
  • You can't tap more creatures to convoke Lethal Scheme than it takes to pay for its total cost. This means that normally no more than four creatures can convoke it. (2022-04-29)
  • You can tap an untapped creature you haven't controlled continuously since the beginning of your most recent turn to convoke a spell. (2022-04-29)
  • Convoke doesn't change a spell's mana cost or mana value. (2022-04-29)
  • When calculating a spell's total cost, include any alternative costs, additional costs, or anything else that increases or reduces the cost to cast the spell. Convoke applies after the total cost is calculated. (2022-04-29)
  • Because convoke isn't an alternative cost, it can be used in conjunction with alternative costs. (2022-04-29)
  • Tapping a multicolored creature using convoke will pay for {1} or one mana of your choice of any of that creature's colors. (2022-04-29)
  • If a creature you control has a mana ability with {T} in the cost, activating that ability while casting a spell with convoke will result in the creature being tapped before you pay the spell's costs. You won't be able to tap it again for convoke. Similarly, if you sacrifice a creature to activate a mana ability while casting a spell with convoke, that creature won't be on the battlefield when you pay the spell's costs, so you won't be able to tap it for convoke. (2022-04-29)
  • When multiple creatures are instructed to connive simultaneously, they connive one at a time in the order of their controller's choice. (2022-04-29)
  • Once an ability that causes a creature to connive begins to resolve, no player may take any other actions until it's done. Notably, opponents can't try to remove the conniving creature after you discard a nonland card but before it receives a counter. (2022-04-29)
  • If no card is discarded, most likely because that player's hand is empty and an effect says they can't draw cards, the conniving creature does not receive a +1/+1 counter. (2022-04-29)
  • If a resolving spell or ability instructs a specific creature to connive but that creature has left the battlefield, the creature still connives. If you discard a nonland card this way, you won't put a +1/+1 counter on anything. Abilities that trigger “when [that creature] connives” will trigger. (2022-04-29)