Isochron Scepter {2}

Artifact

Imprint — When Isochron Scepter enters the battlefield, you may exile an instant card with converted mana cost 2 or less from your hand.

{2}, {T}: You may copy the exiled card. If you do, you may cast the copy without paying its mana cost.

Illustrated by Mark Harrison

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
1v1 Cmdr.
Notes and Rules Information for Isochron Scepter
  • The converted mana cost of a split card is determined by the combined mana cost of its two halves. When you activate the second ability, you may choose to cast either half of the split card, but you may not cast both halves. (2017-04-18)
  • If Isochron Scepter leaves the battlefield while the activated ability is on the stack, the ability can still make a copy. (2016-06-08)
  • You cast the copy while the ability is resolving and still on the stack. (2016-06-08)
  • If the imprinted card leaves the exile zone while the activated ability is on the stack, the copy can’t be made. (2016-06-08)
  • If the exiled card has X in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value for X when casting it. (2016-06-08)
  • If you don’t want to cast the copy, you can choose not to; the copy ceases to exist the next time state-based actions are checked. (2016-06-08)
  • Because you’re already casting the spell using an alternative cost (by casting it without paying its mana cost), you can’t pay any other alternative costs for the card. You can pay additional costs, such as kicker costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, you must pay those. (2016-06-08)