Culling Scales {3}

Artifact

At the beginning of your upkeep, destroy target nonland permanent with the lowest converted mana cost. (If two or more permanents are tied for lowest cost, target any one of them.)

Illustrated by Daren Bader

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Culling Scales:
  • You choose the target. If there’s more than one nonland permanent tied for lowest converted mana cost, you choose which one to target. (2004-12-01)
  • If the targeted permanent doesn’t have the lowest converted mana cost when the ability resolves, the ability doesn’t resolve and the permanent isn’t destroyed. (2004-12-01)
  • Most tokens have a converted mana cost of 0. A token that’s a copy of another permanent or card has a converted mana cost equal to that permanent or card’s converted mana cost. (2004-12-01)
  • If the lowest converted mana cost is 3, Culling Scales can destroy itself. (2004-12-01)