Thoughtseize {B}

Sorcery

Target player reveals their hand. You choose a nonland card from it. That player discards that card. You lose 2 life.

Illustrated by James Ryman

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Thoughtseize:
  • The loss of life is part of the spell’s effect. It’s not an additional cost. If Thoughtseize doesn’t resolve, you won’t lose life. (2013-09-15)
  • If you target yourself with this spell, you must reveal your entire hand to the other players just as any other player would. (2014-02-01)