War Cadence {2}{R}

Enchantment

{X}{R}: This turn, creatures can’t block unless their controller pays {X} for each blocking creature they control.

The rhythm isn’t a call to arms, but a signal that the goblins have made a new enemy.

Illustrated by John Matson

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for War Cadence:
  • You can choose X=0. This doesn’t have an effect most of the time, but it does mean that creatures can’t block unless the controller chooses to pay the cost (a cost of zero is not automatically paid). You can use this to make your creatures unable to block an attacker. (2004-10-04)
  • The ability only applies to blocks declared after it resolves. It will not add costs to any blockers already announced. (2004-10-04)