War Tax {2}{U}

Enchantment

{X}{U}: This turn, creatures can’t attack unless their controller pays {X} for each attacking creature they control.

The worst thing about being a depraved pirate is having to work with a bunch of depraved pirates.

Illustrated by Greg Hildebrandt & Tim Hildebrandt

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for War Tax:
  • You can choose X=0. This doesn’t have an effect most of the time, but it does mean that creatures can’t attack unless the controller chooses to pay the cost (a cost of zero is not automatically paid, so the controller can choose to not pay). (2004-10-04)
  • The ability only applies to attackers declared after it resolves. It will not add costs to any attackers already announced. (2004-10-04)
  • In the Two-Headed Giant format, you still only have to pay once per creature. (2007-02-01)