Endling {2}{B}{B}

Creature — Zombie Shapeshifter

{B}: Endling gains menace until end of turn.

{B}: Endling gains deathtouch until end of turn.

{B}: Endling gains undying until end of turn. (When this creature dies, if it had no +1/+1 counters on it, return it to the battlefield under its owner’s control with a +1/+1 counter on it.)

{1}: Endling gets +1/-1 or -1/+1 until end of turn.

3/3

Illustrated by Livia Prima

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Endling:
  • Multiple instances of menace or deathtouch on the same creature are redundant. (2019-06-14)
  • If a creature has multiple instances of undying, they’ll each trigger separately, but once one of those abilities returns the card to the battlefield, any others will have no effect. The creature won’t receive multiple +1/+1 counters. (2019-06-14)
  • If a card leaves the graveyard after it dies but before the undying trigger resolves, it won’t be returned to the battlefield. (2019-06-14)
  • Once undying returns the creature, it’s considered a new object with no relation to the object that it was. Auras that were attached to it won’t return to the battlefield. Equipment that was attached to it will remain unattached. Any counters that were on it won’t be put on the new creature. (2019-06-14)
  • If a creature has +1/+1 counters and -1/-1 counters on it, state-based actions remove the same number of each so that it has only one kind of those counters on it. Endling’s undying ability can bring it back again if its +1/+1 counters are removed this way. (2019-06-14)
  • If a creature with undying that has +1/+1 counters on it receives enough -1/-1 counters to cause it to be destroyed by lethal damage or put into its owner’s graveyard for having 0 or less toughness, undying won’t trigger and the card won’t return to the battlefield. That’s because undying checks the creature as it last existed on the battlefield, and it still had +1/+1 counters on it at that point. (2019-06-14)
  • If Endling’s power is reduced to 0 or less while in combat and it gains deathtouch, it won’t deal damage, so deathtouch won’t apply. (2019-06-14)
  • If you activate Endling’s last ability, you don’t choose whether Endling gets +1/-1 or -1/+1 until that ability resolves. (2019-06-14)
  • If Endling’s last ability gives it -1/+1 enough times, it may have negative power. Use that negative value if its power is further modified. For example, if Endling’s last ability gives it -1/+1 five times, it’s -2/8. Giving it +1/-1 twice after that makes it 0/6, not 2/6. (2019-06-14)