Ali from Cairo {2}{R}{R}

Creature — Human

Damage that would reduce your life total to less than 1 reduces it to 1 instead.

0/1

Illustrated by Mark Poole

Part of the Reserved List

Standard
Alchemy
Pioneer
Explorer
Modern
Brawl
Legacy
Historic
Vintage
Pauper
Commander
Penny
Notes and Rules Information for Ali from Cairo:
  • This effect does not apply to effects which reduce your life without doing damage. (2004-10-04)
  • The ability works up until Ali enters the graveyard, so if he takes lethal damage or is destroyed at the same time you take damage, the ability helps you. If the damage occurs after it goes to the graveyard, however, it is not affected by the Ali which is no longer on the battlefield. (2004-10-04)
  • This effect does not prevent damage, it prevents the damage from turning into loss of life. So the full damage is dealt (and abilities that trigger on damage being dealt still trigger), but the full loss of life is not applied. (2004-10-04)