Lightning Blow {1}{W}

Instant

Target creature gains first strike until end of turn.

Draw a card at the beginning of the next turn’s upkeep.

“If you do it right, they’ll never know what hit them.” —General Jarkeld, the Arctic Fox

Illustrated by Harold McNeill

Part of the Reserved List

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Lightning Blow:
  • You may target any creature, not just one that doesn’t have first strike. If the targeted creature already has first strike as Lightning Blow resolves, Lightning Blow won’t affect it (since multiple instances of first strike are redundant), but you’ll still draw a card at the beginning of the next turn’s upkeep. (2009-10-01)
  • If the targeted creature doesn’t have first strike, granting it first strike after combat damage has been dealt in the first combat damage step won’t prevent it from dealing combat damage. It will still assign and deal its combat damage in the second combat damage step. (2009-10-01)