Ulcerate {B}

Instant

Target creature gets -3/-3 until end of turn. You lose 3 life.

“If it were merely lethal, that would be sufficient. The art, however, is in maximizing the suffering it causes.”
—Liliana Vess

Illustrated by Johann Bodin

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Ulcerate:
  • The loss of life isn’t a cost. If the target creature is an illegal target when Ulcerate tries to resolve, it won’t resolve and none of its effects will happen. You won’t lose any life. (2017-11-17)