Shelob, Child of Ungoliant (The Lord of the Rings: Tales of Middle-earth #681)

Shelob, Child of Ungoliant {4}{B}{G}

Legendary Creature — Spider Demon

Deathtouch, ward {2}

Other Spiders you control have deathtouch and ward {2}.

Whenever another creature dealt damage this turn by a Spider you controlled dies, create a token that’s a copy of that creature, except it’s a Food artifact with “{2}, {T}, Sacrifice this artifact: You gain 3 life,” and it loses all other card types.


Illustrated by Lorenzo Mastroianni

Notes and Rules Information for Shelob, Child of Ungoliant:
  • The token copies the creature as it last existed on the battlefield before it died, not as it exists in the graveyard. (2023-06-16)
  • Except for being a Food artifact, having the listed activated ability, and losing all other card types and subtypes, the token copies only what was printed on the original creature (unless that creature is copying something else; see below). It doesn't copy whether that creature was tapped or untapped, whether it had any counters on it or Auras or Equipment attached to it, or any non-copy effects that had changed its power, toughness, types, color, or so on. (2023-06-16)
  • If the copied creature has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be 0. (2023-06-16)
  • If the copied creature is a token, the new token that's created copies the original characteristics of that token as stated by the effect that created that token, with the exceptions noted above. (2023-06-16)
  • If the copied creature is copying something else, then the token enters the battlefield as whatever that creature copied, with the exceptions noted above. (2023-06-16)
  • Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the copied creature will trigger when the token enters the battlefield. Any "as [this creature] enters the battlefield" or "[this creature] enters the battlefield with" abilities of the chosen creature will also work. (2023-06-16)
  • Since the token is a Food artifact and not a creature, it can't attack or block unless it becomes a creature somehow. (2023-06-16)
  • Food is an artifact type. Even though it appears on some creatures in other sets, it's never a creature type. (2023-06-16)
  • If an effect refers to a Food, it means any Food artifact, not just a Food artifact token. For example, you can sacrifice Lembas, an artifact card with the Food subtype, to activate the last ability of Bill the Pony. (2023-06-16)
  • You can't sacrifice a Food token to pay multiple costs. For example, you can't sacrifice a Food token to activate its own ability and also to activate the last ability of Bill the Pony. (2023-06-16)
  • Some spells and abilities that create Food tokens may require targets. If each target chosen is an illegal target as that spell or ability tries to resolve, it won't resolve. You won't create any Food tokens. (2023-06-16)
  • Do not eat the delicious cards. No, not even for second breakfast. (2023-06-16)