Saruman of Many Colors (The Lord of the Rings: Tales of Middle-earth #223)

Saruman of Many Colors {3}{W}{U}{B}

Legendary Creature — Avatar Wizard

Ward—Discard an enchantment, instant, or sorcery card.

Whenever you cast your second spell each turn, each opponent mills two cards. When one or more cards are milled this way, exile target enchantment, instant, or sorcery card with equal or lesser mana value than that spell from an opponent’s graveyard. Copy the exiled card. You may cast the copy without paying its mana cost.


Illustrated by Alexander Mokhov

Notes and Rules Information for Saruman of Many Colors:
  • If you don't have an enchantment, instant, or sorcery card in your hand, you won't be able to pay Saruman of Many Colors's ward cost. (2023-06-16)
  • You don't choose a target for Saruman of Many Colors's ability at the time it triggers. Rather, a second "reflexive" ability triggers when one or more cards are milled this way. You choose a target for that ability as it goes on the stack. Each player may respond to this triggered ability as normal. (2023-06-16)
  • You cast the copy while the ability is resolving and still on the stack. You can't wait to cast it later in the turn. (2023-06-16)
  • If you cast a spell "without paying its mana cost," you can't pay any alternative costs. You can, however, pay additional costs, such as kicker costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, you must pay those. (2023-06-16)
  • If the spell you cast has {X} in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X when casting it without paying its mana cost. (2023-06-16)
  • If you don't want to cast the copy, you can choose not to; the copy ceases to exist the next time state-based actions are checked. (2023-06-16)