Peregrin Took (The Lord of the Rings: Tales of Middle-earth #181)

Peregrin Took {2}{G}

Legendary Creature — Halfling Citizen

If one or more tokens would be created under your control, those tokens plus an additional Food token are created instead. (It’s an artifact with “{2}, {T}, Sacrifice this artifact: You gain 3 life.”)

Sacrifice three Foods: Draw a card.

“Sam! Get breakfast ready for half-past nine!”


Illustrated by Campbell White

Notes and Rules Information for Peregrin Took:
  • Peregrin Took's first ability applies to all kinds of tokens that its controller creates, not just Food tokens. (2023-06-16)
  • The additional Food tokens won't have any abilities the other tokens were created with. Anything else specified in the effect creating the token (such as tapped or "Exile that token at end of combat") applies to both the original tokens and the Food. (2023-06-16)
  • You don't need to control the spell or ability that creates the tokens, but you do have to be the one creating the tokens for Peregrin Took's ability to apply. (2023-06-16)
  • Food is an artifact type. Even though it appears on some creatures in other sets, it's never a creature type. (2023-06-16)
  • If an effect refers to a Food, it means any Food artifact, not just a Food artifact token. For example, you can sacrifice Lembas, an artifact card with the Food subtype, to activate the last ability of Bill the Pony. (2023-06-16)
  • You can't sacrifice a Food token to pay multiple costs. For example, you can't sacrifice a Food token to activate its own ability and also to activate the last ability of Bill the Pony. (2023-06-16)
  • Some spells and abilities that create Food tokens may require targets. If each target chosen is an illegal target as that spell or ability tries to resolve, it won't resolve. You won't create any Food tokens. (2023-06-16)
  • Do not eat the delicious cards. No, not even for second breakfast. (2023-06-16)