Nova Pentacle {4}

Artifact

{3}, {T}: The next time a source of your choice would deal damage to you this turn, that damage is dealt to target creature of an opponent’s choice instead.

Illustrated by Richard Thomas

Part of the Reserved List

Standard
Brawl
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Nova Pentacle:
  • As you activate the ability, you choose an opponent, then that opponent chooses a creature for the ability to target. It doesn’t have to be a creature that opponent controls. If there are no creatures that can be targeted with the ability, it can’t be activated. (2009-10-01)
  • As the ability resolves, you choose a damage source. (2009-10-01)
  • The next time damage from the chosen source would be dealt to you this turn, that damage is dealt to the targeted creature instead. Whether it’s still a legal target is not checked at this time. However, if it’s not able to be dealt damage because it’s neither a creature nor a planeswalker, or it’s no longer on the battlefield, then the damage is not redirected and is dealt to you as normal. (2009-10-01)
  • In multi-player games you can choose a different opposing player each time it is used. (2004-10-04)