Mindswipe {X}{U}{R}

Instant

Counter target spell unless its controller pays {X}. Mindswipe deals X damage to that spell’s controller.

“The past and the unwritten are frozen. To understand their meaning requires heat.”
—Arel the Whisperer

Illustrated by Ryan Alexander Lee

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Mindswipe:
  • If the controller of the target spell pays {X}, the spell won’t be countered. Mindswipe will still deal damage to that player. (2014-09-20)
  • If the target spell is an illegal target as Mindswipe tries to resolve (perhaps because it was countered by another spell or ability), Mindswipe won’t resolve and none of its effects will happen. No damage will be dealt. (2014-09-20)