Absorb Identity {1}{U}

Instant

Return target creature to its owner’s hand. You may have Shapeshifters you control become copies of that creature until end of turn.

Illustrated by Matt Stewart

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Absorb Identity:
  • If Shapeshifters you control do become copies of the creature, they’ll use the copiable values of the creature as it last existed on the battlefield. They don’t copy whether that creature was tapped or untapped, whether it had any counters on it, whether it had any Auras and/or Equipment attached to it, or any non-copy effects that changed its power, toughness, types, color, and so on. (2021-02-05)
  • If the creature that was returned was copying something else, the Shapeshifters that become copies of that creature will use the copiable values of that creature. In most cases, they will be copies of whatever that creature was copying. If it was copying a permanent or card with {X} in its mana cost, X is 0. (2021-02-05)