Tundra Fumarole {1}{R}{R}

Snow Sorcery

Tundra Fumarole deals 4 damage to target creature or planeswalker. Add {C} for each {S} spent to cast this spell. Until end of turn, you don’t lose this mana as steps and phases end. ({S} is mana from a snow source.)

Illustrated by Simon Dominic

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Tundra Fumarole:
  • If the target creature or planeswalker is an illegal target as Tundra Fumarole tries to resolve, it won’t resolve and none of its effects will happen. You won’t add mana. (2021-02-05)
  • If you cast Tundra Fumarole without spending snow mana, you won’t add any mana. Damage will still be dealt. (2021-02-05)
  • If Tundra Fumarole is copied, no snow mana was spent to cast the copy, so you won’t add any mana. Damage will still be dealt. (2021-02-05)
  • Snow is a supertype, not a card type. It has no rules meaning or function by itself, but spells and abilities may refer to it. (2021-02-05)
  • The {S} symbol is a generic mana symbol. It represents a cost that can be paid by one mana that was produced by a snow source. That mana can be any color or colorless. (2021-02-05)
  • Snow isn’t a type of mana. If an effect says you may spend mana as though it were any type, you can’t pay for {S} using mana that wasn’t produced by a snow source. (2021-02-05)
  • Some cards have additional effects for each {S} spent to cast them. You can cast these spells even if you don’t spend any snow mana to cast them; their additional effects simply won’t do anything. (2021-02-05)
  • The Kaldheim set doesn’t have any cards with mana costs that include {S}, but some previous sets do. If an effect says such a spell costs {1} less to cast, that reduction doesn’t apply to any {S} costs. This is also true for activated abilities that include {S} in their activation costs and effects that reduce those costs. (2021-02-05)