Heretic's Punishment {4}{R}

Enchantment

{3}{R}: Choose any target, then mill three cards. Heretic’s Punishment deals damage to that permanent or player equal to the highest mana value among the milled cards.

Illustrated by Vincent Proce

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Heretic's Punishment:
  • If the targeted permanent or player is an illegal target by the time the ability resolves, the entire ability won’t resolve. No cards will be put into your graveyard, and no damage will be dealt. (2011-09-22)
  • If you have two or fewer cards in your library when the ability resolves, all of them will be put into your graveyard. Heretic’s Punishment will still deal damage equal to the highest converted mana cost among those cards. (2011-09-22)
  • The converted mana cost of a double-faced card in your graveyard is the converted mana cost of the front face. (2011-09-22)
  • If all three cards have a converted mana cost of 0, no damage will be dealt. (2011-09-22)