Heartless Act {1}{B}

Instant

Choose one —

• Destroy target creature with no counters on it.

• Remove up to three counters from target creature.

“It’s them or us.”
—General Kudro

DailyMTG Story Spotlight

Illustrated by Ryan Pancoast

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Heartless Act:
  • If you choose the second mode for Heartless Act, you choose which counters to remove from the creature, no matter who controls the creature. You may choose counters of different kinds. (2020-04-17)
  • If you choose the first mode and the creature gains a counter in response, you can’t remove counters from it instead; the spell just doesn’t resolve. Similarly, if you choose the second mode and the creature loses its counters in response, you can’t destroy it instead. (2020-04-17)