Obelisk Spider {1}{B}{G}

Creature — Spider

Reach

Whenever Obelisk Spider deals combat damage to a creature, put a -1/-1 counter on that creature.

Whenever you put one or more -1/-1 counters on a creature, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain 1 life.

1/4

Illustrated by YW Tang

Standard
Frontier
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
1v1 Cmdr.
Commander
Brawl
Notes and Rules Information for Obelisk Spider
  • Because damage remains marked on a creature until it’s removed as the turn ends, the counter Obelisk Spider’s first triggered ability puts on a creature may cause previously marked damage to become lethal. (2017-07-14)
  • Obelisk Spider’s first triggered ability puts only one -1/-1 counter on the creature, no matter how much combat damage it dealt. (2017-07-14)
  • If Obelisk Spider deals combat damage to a creature but that creature isn’t on the battlefield as Obelisk Spider’s first triggered ability resolves, most likely because Obelisk Spider killed that creature already, that ability won’t put a -1/-1 counter on it. (2017-07-14)
  • In a Two-Headed Giant game, Obelisk Spider’s last ability causes the opposing team to lose 2 life and you gain 1 life. (2017-07-14)
  • If Obelisk Spider deals combat damage to a creature at the same time Obelisk Spider is dealt lethal damage, its first triggered ability will put a -1/-1 counter on the other creature. However, because Obelisk Spider has left the battlefield before that ability resolves, its last ability won’t trigger. (2017-07-14)
  • If you put one or more -1/-1 counter on each of multiple creatures at the same time, Obelisk Spider’s last ability triggers once for each of those creatures. (2017-07-14)
  • If a creature with wither or infect deals damage to a creature, the controller of the creature with wither or infect puts that many -1/-1 counters on the second creature. (2017-04-18)