Chain Stasis {U}

Instant

You may tap or untap target creature. Then that creature’s controller may pay {2}{U}. If the player does, they may copy this spell and may choose a new target for that copy.

“Here we go again.”
—Kakra, Sea Troll

Illustrated by Pat Morrissey

Part of the Reserved List

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Chain Stasis:
  • The decision to tap or untap is made on resolution of the spell (and of each copy). (2004-10-04)
  • Paying to make Chain Stasis continue is done as part of the resolution of the spell. (2004-10-04)
  • The copy is a spell, so it can be targeted by other spells and abilities that target a spell. (2004-10-04)
  • The player putting the copy spell on the stack controls that spell. (2004-10-04)
  • The spell copy has all the text and can result in itself being copied. (2004-10-04)