Executioner's Swing {W}{B}

Instant

Target creature that dealt damage this turn gets -5/-5 until end of turn.

“The contract specified an appendage for a missed payment. Read the fine print: the head is an appendage.”

Watermark: Orzhov

Illustrated by Karl Kopinski

Standard
Brawl
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Duel Cmdr.
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Executioner's Swing:
  • You can’t choose a creature that hasn’t yet dealt damage during the turn as the target of Executioner’s Swing, so in most cases it’s not possible for Executioner’s Swing to reduce the amount of combat damage a creature deals. (If a creature has double strike, you could cast Executioner’s Swing after it deals first-strike damage but before it deals regular combat damage.) (2013-01-24)
  • It doesn’t matter what the creature dealt damage to or if that damage was combat damage. (2013-01-24)