Delay {1}{U}

Instant

Counter target spell. If the spell is countered this way, exile it with three time counters on it instead of putting it into its owner’s graveyard. If it doesn’t have suspend, it gains suspend. (At the beginning of its owner’s upkeep, remove a time counter from that card. When the last is removed, the player plays it without paying its mana cost. If it’s a creature, it has haste.)

Illustrated by Ron Spears

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Delay:
  • If an effect refers to a “suspended card,” that means a card that (1) has suspend, (2) is in exile, and (3) has one or more time counters on it. (2021-03-19)
  • When the last time counter is removed from the exiled card, it’s cast as a completely new spell. Modes and targets are chosen again. If the spell has any mandatory additional costs, they must be paid again. If they can’t be, the spell can’t be cast and stays exiled. (2021-03-19)
  • If the target spell was cast with flashback, Delay’s effect will exile it, not the flashback effect. The card will get time counters and gain suspend (if it didn’t already have suspend). (2021-03-19)
  • If the target spell is face down, it’ll be exiled face up. It can’t be cast face down when casting it without paying its mana cost. (2021-03-19)
  • Suspend is a keyword that represents three abilities. The first is a static ability that allows you to exile the card from your hand with the specified number of time counters (the number before the dash) on it by paying its suspend cost (listed after the dash). The second is a triggered ability that removes a time counter from the suspended card at the beginning of each of your upkeeps. The third is a triggered ability that causes you to cast the card when the last time counter is removed. If you cast a creature spell this way, it gains haste until you lose control of that creature (or, in rare cases, you lose control of the creature spell while it’s on the stack). (2021-03-19)
  • You can exile a card in your hand using suspend any time you could cast that card. Consider its card type, any effects that modify when you could cast it (such as flash) and any other effects that stop you from casting it (such as from Meddling Mage’s ability) to determine if and when you can do this. Whether you could actually complete all steps in casting the card is irrelevant. For example, you can exile a card with suspend that has no mana cost or that requires a target even if no legal targets are available at that time. (2021-03-19)
  • Exiling a card with suspend isn’t casting that card. This action doesn’t use the stack and can’t be responded to. (2021-03-19)
  • If the first triggered ability of suspend (the one that removes time counters) is countered, no time counter is removed. The ability will trigger again at the beginning of the card’s owner’s next upkeep. (2021-03-19)
  • When the last time counter is removed, the second triggered ability of suspend triggers. It doesn’t matter why the last time counter was removed or what effect removed it. (2021-03-19)
  • As the second triggered ability resolves, you must cast the card if able. You must do so even if it requires targets and the only legal targets are ones that you really don’t want to target. Timing permissions based on the card’s type are ignored. (2021-03-19)
  • If you can’t cast the card, perhaps because there are no legal targets available, it remains exiled with no time counters on it, and it’s no longer suspended. (2021-03-19)
  • If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” such as with suspend, you can’t choose to cast it for any alternative costs. You can, however, pay additional costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, you must pay those to cast the card. (2021-03-19)
  • You are never forced to activate mana abilities to pay costs, so if there is a mandatory additional mana cost (such as from Thalia, Guardian of Thraben), you can decline to activate mana abilities to pay for it and hence fail to cast the suspended card, leaving it in exile. (2021-03-19)
  • The converted mana cost of a spell cast without paying its mana cost is determined by its mana cost, even though that cost wasn’t paid. (2021-03-19)