Pyrrhic Revival {3}{W/B}{W/B}{W/B}

Sorcery

Each player returns each creature card from their graveyard to the battlefield with an additional -1/-1 counter on it.

They found themselves alive again, still bearing their mortal wounds.

Illustrated by Richard Kane Ferguson

Standard
Brawl
Pioneer
Historic
Modern
Pauper
Legacy
Penny
Vintage
Commander
Notes and Rules Information for Pyrrhic Revival:
  • Pyrrhic Revival can cause creatures to be put onto the battlefield that have 0 toughness due to the -1/-1 counter from this effect. Those creatures are put right back into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action. No spells or abilities that would remove counters or otherwise affect those creatures can be cast or activated before that happens. Still, the creatures did momentarily pop onto the battlefield, so any relevant triggered abilities (including their own enters-the-battlefield or leaves-the-battlefield abilities) will trigger. They’ll be put on the stack after state-based actions are checked. (2008-08-01)